But Honey you are short

I remember it like it was yesterday…..I was in first grade and I came home crying. I did not want to tell my mom why, but she kept asking what was wrong. Through all my tears I managed to tell her that someone had said something mean to me and continued to cry while she was holding me. As she rocked me and stroked my hair, trying to convince me to calm down I was finally able to tell her what upset me so bad. …..

“They said I was short!”

At that moment, my mom looked into my eyes…the interesting thing was that she suddenly got a smile on her face. All I could think is…..”Is she really holding back on laughing right now?!” But she kept her cool and just hugged me again. Then she told me the honest truth….

“But honey, you are short”

I can’t believe she was agreeing with them! I think I was shocked and the look on my face showed it, like she told me that the dog tore off the head on my bear, Snuggle. She continued to hold me and reassure me and told me….

“Honey, think about it. Your dad and I are both short. Do you really think you stood a chance?”

It was the hard truth in front of me…It was time to accept the obvious. I was and would always be short.

So with that…here are a few things that I have learned over the years……

1. I will not be model or a back up dancer to some famous singer

2. I will be a really good climber…almost part monkey….since I may have to climb on the kitchen counter just to reach the glasses.

3. Take a taller friend or make a friend at the grocery store, so you can save yourself from climbing on the shelves just to reach the box of crackers you want.

4. Five pounds looks like 10 pounds when you are short.

5. Wedges and heels are my best friends. Flats are the enemies.

6. Crowds can be a little clausterphobic..nothing like having all these taller people all around you breathing all the air in. Online shopping is much healthier.

7. I do like my personal space. This kind of goes hand in hand with crowds. Nothing like having someone tower over you and getting into your personal space to the point that my hair on the top of my head moves a little from the breeze coming from the tall man breathing down on me! Not cool man.

8. Even though I am over 21, I still make sure to have my ID ready for when they ask for it. I still get carded, but this is actually a good thing:)

9. When I am looking to buy a car…make sure the seat goes forward enough so I can reach the pedals. Oh, also that it raises up so I can see over the dash.

10. I am not a threat to small children

11. Sometimes people don’t know if I am aware that I am vertically challenged…so they throw things out like…”wow! You are really short!” …..Trust me peeps, I already know.

12. I always make friends with my seamstress….she will get to know me on regular basis and I may actually help put her first born through college, with all the work she does for me. which is kinda cool…becuase not only am I getting close to fit me, but I am doing a good deed by helping with someone’s education! woo hoo!

So knowing this, I have found that just because I am shorter than others, dosen’t mean that I can’t hold my own. I think it has actually made me a bit tougher. And….it has always been such a great conversation starter!

 

~ by Stephie B Seeks Chi on February 12, 2012.

Leave a comment